Between the Lines

"Of all unimportant subjects, football is the most important" – Pope John Paul II

Bargain of the decade

Posted by hakanrylander on January 30, 2009

A number of stories during this transfer window have indicated that City are willing to offload Micah Richards, maybe for no more than £5m. An example is today’s claim by the Mirror that Mark Hughes has offered Richards in exchange for Kolo Toure. If there’s any truth at all in these rumours Sir Alex should act quickly. This could be the bargain of the decade! Richards hasn’t looked impressive this season, but he has tremendous potential. I think Ferguson could mould him into the next Patrick Vieira.

3 Responses to “Bargain of the decade”

  1. The Gaffer said

    We don’t need him. I’m not sure he really will make it as a midfielder. He hasn’t got the stamina or the ability to pass the ball. Patrick Vieira can really pass the ball.

    Still, £5m is very cheap but despite being a bargain he is a CITY player. Don’t think he will be very popular with the fans….

  2. Hakan said

    Of course I can’t be sure about his ability as a midfielder. But I feel that his tackling, strength and pace could make him suitable for a holding role. It would be very interesting to see how he developed under Ferguson.
    As for popularity with the fans I think that would change very quickly once he changed clubs. I disliked Alan Smith when he was at Leeds, but after a couple of weeks with United I liked him a lot.

  3. I’m not keeping my hopes up I agree that it will be a great bargain for us. I see the potential in Micah too and I reckon the boss would be more than able to bring out the best in Micah.

Leave a Reply

 
