Between the Lines

"Of all unimportant subjects, football is the most important" – Pope John Paul II

Lord, My God, Assist Me Now

Posted by hakanrylander on February 18, 2009

Offical statistics from the Barclay’s Premier League. Number of assists season 2008/2009:

  1. Dimitar Berbatov  9
  2. Steed Malbranque  8
  3. Robin van Persie  8
  4. Ashley Young  8
  5. Emmanuel Adebayor  7
  6. Gabriel Agbonlahor  7
  7. Mikel Arteta  7
  8. Stephen Ireland  6
  9. Florent Malouda  6
  10. Morten Gamst Pedersen  6
3 Responses to “Lord, My God, Assist Me Now”

  1. The Gaffer said

    Great stats Hakan!
    I’m not surprised about Berbatov, but I am about Steed Malbranque and Florent Malouda.

  2. Prince H said

    Statistics is like having one foot in the fridge and one on the cooker and saying that you are quite comfortable. But, I have to give you this. I have always seen the talent of Berbatov, but always thought that he missuse it by being selfish and lazy. This statistics tells me a different story. Have to give you this. Have to change my mind. Thankyou!

    Antoher story is that it’s boring when a team just with their financial strength buy players at their peak from other competitors, like you’ve done with van der Saar and Berbatov (among others).
    On the other hand: Scoles was very very impressive against the pale Fulham. He is Man U through and through. I give you that as well. Classact! But what have happened to Ronaldo?

  3. hakanrylander said

    Prince H: I can agree “in principal” that it can be a problem that the clubs with strong finances buy all the top players. On the other hand I’m prepared to throw those principles overboard as soon as United sign someone like Berba or Rooney. “Bored” is not a very accurate description of my state of mind at those moments. But I find it very boring when Chelsea or Real Madrid make similar signings…

Leave a Reply

 
