Between the Lines

"Of all unimportant subjects, football is the most important" – Pope John Paul II

Match Report: Sir Alex Ferguson 1 Between the Lines 0

Posted by hakanrylander on December 9, 2009

Ahead of the game against Wolfsburg I tried to figure out the best way to line up considering the severe injury crisis among defenders. But I have to admit that 3-5-2 never even entered my mind. And I wasn’t of course anywhere near suggesting that we use a  very lop-sided 3-5-2, with one of the wing-backs, Park Ji-sung, running his socks off and joining both attack and defence to great effect, while the other, Nani,  had little impact going forward (apart from that cross to Owen) and in customary fashion didn’t track back. I’m still not sure why it worked, but it certainly did. Maybe there’s a reason why Fergie is manager of Manchester United and I’m not.

A lot of the credit must go to Park who, particularly in the first half, found an awful lot of space going forward, and still found the time to defend. Despite the contribution from Park and the Owen master-class my MotM was Paul Scholes who again showed the rare talent to make it seem as if he always had plenty of time on the ball. Several good touches from Welbeck as well.

In the first half I couldn’t see what all the hype surrounding Dzeko was about. In the second I could. But I’m afraid all the signs are that he’ll join Milan.

3 Responses to “Match Report: Sir Alex Ferguson 1 Between the Lines 0”

  1. The Gaffer said

    Hi, I too kept a close eye on Dzeko and as soon as he put the ball in the net I thought that we should buy him.

    But here are two reasons why United shouldn’t buy him:
    1. Expensive
    2. Isn’t Owen, Berbatov and Rooney enough? Yes they are, and though they tend to get injured, Welbeck and Macheda are good reserves.

    I think it will suit him and United if he goes to Milan!

  2. If a few headers had been aimed a bit lower it would have been Sir Alex Ferguson 0 Between the Lines 1

  3. hakanrylander said

    Interesting point, Joppe. Maybe I will succeed Fergie after all.

Leave a Reply

 
